Insomnia

Last night I jerked myself awake, nightmares plaguing me I woke up crying. I didn’t sleep well needless to say, my sleep meds didnt work. 

Today I couldn’t nap. I tried and my eyes wouldn’t stay shut. “You’ll probably be so tired you’ll just crash tonight!” My friend laughs…

But they are wrong. Here it is 2am and I can’t sleep again. My eyes are bloodshot red but I can’t help but let my mind wander. 

I took my sleep meds, like I’m supossed to, yet here I am, wide awake. Under the influence of something like sedatives. Addictive, or so they say. 

Nothing works. Nothing stays. 

I’m afraid I’ll be awake forever. 

So I got up and layed on the concrete outside. 

It’s a warm summer night, muggy atmosphere. 

I watch the stars, and hope they don’t mind. 

I try to forget everything going on inside my head. 

Headlights flash, I dont move, not because I can’t but because I’m too tired too. 

Why am I awake? Why am I awake at all?

Leave a Reply

